By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Communications Journalism Media

Entry Deadline: Mirror Awards for Media Industry Reporting

February 15, 2021 at 11:59pm EST

Virtual (See event details)

This event has already occurred. The information may no longer be valid.

Entries for Newhouse School’s Mirror Awards honoring excellence in media industry reporting may be submitted online until Feb. 15, 2021.

Entries will be accepted in six categories, including two special topic categories for 2021: Best Story on Media Coverage of the COVID-19 Pandemic and Best Story on Media Coverage of the 2020 Presidential Election. Other categories include Best Single Article/Story; Best Profile; Best Commentary; and John M. Higgins Award for Best In-Depth/Enterprise Reporting, which carries a $5,000 prize. The others carry a $1,000 prize.

Established by the Newhouse School in 2006, the Mirror Awards are the most important awards for recognizing excellence in media industry reporting. They honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit.

The competition is open to anyone who conducts reporting, commentary or criticism of the media industries in a format intended for a mass audience. Eligible work includes print, broadcast and online editorial content focusing on the development or distribution of news and entertainment. All entries must have been published or broadcast between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2020.

For more information, visit or email

Learn more

This event was first published on December 16, 2020 and last updated on January 21, 2021.

Event Details