By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Arts and Performance

salt/city/blues

June 9, 2022 at 7:30pmJune 26, 2022 at 10:00pm EDT

Syracuse Stage

This event has already occurred. The information may no longer be valid.

How does a fractured family heal when unresolved emotions of the past color the present? Can a city reshape itself if it means tearing open old, still-tender wounds? And where in a diverse but segregated city can communities find common ground, mutual dignity and a true sense of home? These questions collide into Yolonda Mourning, an independent consultant on a vast project to take down a span of highway that has long divided Salt City. When she leaves her husband and teenage son and moves to the heart of trendy downtown, a diverse cast of characters forces Yolonda to confront the Salt City’s complicated history around race, class and urban renewal, and to reckon with her role as architect of the broken bridges in her own family. Moving, funny, poignant, and current, salt/city/blues is a fresh, contemporary new play set in a fictionalized Syracuse and to the music of the blues. A Cold Read world premiere production.

By Kyle Bass

Directed by Gilbert McCauley

Performances:

Thursday, June 9 @ 7:30 PM

Friday, June 10 @ 7:30 PM

Saturday, June 11 @ 7:30 PM

Sunday, June 12 @ 7:30 PM

Wednesday, June 15 @ 2:00 PM (Open-Captioned Performance), 7:30 PM

Thursday, June 16 @ 7:30 PM

Friday, June 17 @ 7:30 PM

Saturday, June 18 @ 2:00 PM (ASL Interpreted Performance), 7:30 PM

Sunday, June 19 @ 2:00 PM

Tuesday, June 21 @ 7:30 PM

Wednesday, June 22 @ 7:30 PM

Thursday, June 23 @ 7:30 PM

Friday, June 24 @ 7:30 PM

Saturday, June 25 @ 2:00 PM (Audio Described Performance), 7:30 PM (Open-Captioned Performance)

Sunday, June 26 @ 2:00 PM (Open-Captioned Performance)

 

Learn more

This event was published on May 24, 2022.


Event Details